Closing Time

21 November 2007 at 17:30 2 comments

I’ve never been at the big library on campus at closing time before tonight. When the bell rings, squinting scholars skitter out of the stacks like termites when you pick up a piece of rotting wood. Some of them even have the same pallor as termites. They look like they haven’t seen sunlight in weeks.

Does that sound like I have an aversion to libraries? Nothing could be further from the truth. I still remember the first time I walked into the campus library at the folkhögskola I attended in Sweden. What a relief it was to find that it smelled exactly the same as every other library in my life. All I need is to get a whiff of the drying glue and crumbling paper, and I know I’m home.

Entry filed under: Books, NaBloPoMo, School, Smells. Tags: .

NaBloPoMo Mid-Month Updates Talking Turkey about Thanksgiving Rituals

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nina  |  24 November 2007 at 20:05

    No kidding… I love libraries. It’s good to know if I ever enter a library in Sweden, I won’t be disappointed. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. I’m Not the Only One « omnivorous  |  26 November 2007 at 20:28

    […] November 2007 Evidently I’m not alone in loving library smell. CB I Hate Perfume has come out with a fragrance called “In the Library,” which the Web […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

nablopomo.org

nablopomo randomizer

nablopomo didit

image

Feeds


