Sweden to Phase Out Å, Ä and Ö

2 April 2007 at 22:40 1 comment

In the fine tradition of April Fool’s Day media hoaxes like the hotheaded naked ice borer and the Swiss Spaghetti harvest, The Local, an English-language site with news from Sweden, posted an item about a parliamentary proposal to make the Swedish language more globally competitive by eliminating letters with diacritical marks.

When I clicked on the link to the story from my friend Susan’s post on a Scandinavian music and dance mailing list, I think I actually believed it was on the level, but then I’m not necessarily the best judge.

I not only believed Natural History‘s story about the ice borers, I told my entire family and a number of my friends about it. Fortunately, the whole thing happened before I got tangled up in the Web, so there’s no incriminating email trail my friends can resurrect to remind me how gullible I am.

I’ve bookmarked Slate.com‘s April Fool’s Day Defense Kit — a round-up of some classic media pranks — and set an alarm in my calendar program for next March 30, with a reminder to prepare myself.

Update: And speaking of April Fool’s pranks, I almost forgot to mention my pal Chopper, who temporarily transformed his site Cars! Cars! Cars! (A car blog. Only angrier.) into Krauss! Krauss! Krauss! (An Alison Krauss blog. Only fiddlier.).

Entry filed under: Folklore, Humor, Language, Sweden.

Where Do I Sign Up For This Job? Waiter, Is That a Snowclone in My Sushi?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. buddybob  |  9 April 2007 at 0:35

    Funniest April Fool’s:

    “In 1998 Burger King published a full page advertisement in USA Today announcing the introduction of a new item to their menu: a “Left-Handed Whopper” specially designed for the 32 million left-handed Americans. According to the advertisement, the new whopper included the same ingredients as the original Whopper (lettuce, tomato, hamburger patty, etc.), but all the condiments were rotated 180 degrees for the benefit of their left-handed customers.”

    That’s just too damned funny!

    Speaking of how smokin’ hot Alison Krauss is, check out her site — all new pics of how friggin’ smokin’ hot she is. She’s one of these freaky folks who gets more and more and more and more and more and more and more and more and more purtier as she ages (http://www.alisonkrauss.com). For some reason, http://www.alisonkrausslovesbobby.com isn’t working.

    Yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

nablopomo.org

nablopomo randomizer

nablopomo didit

image

Feeds


