Meteorite Hits Bathroom

12 January 2007 at 11:04 Leave a comment

I think the fine folks at Discovery News have been recruiting their headline writers from the tabloids. As if the whole dragon virgin birth thing wasn’t enough, I arrived at work today to find the above headline at the top of the science news feed on my start up screen.

Of course, when you click through, there’s always a serious science story. (I think a part of me is always just the tiniest bit disappointed by this.)

My favorite quote comes from the curator of the Smithsonian Institution’s meteorite collection:

Every meteorite serves as a “poor man’s space probe,” yielding information on how the solar system formed, [Tim] McCoy said.

Today’s little-known meteorite fact:

Apparently fewer than 5000 meteorites have ever been recovered in the entire history of mankind. I know that three quarters of the earth is covered by oceans and that great swaths of the dry land is uninhabited, but I was still surprised by how low that figure was.

Entry filed under: News, Science.

D’ja miss me? School’s out!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

nablopomo.org

nablopomo randomizer

nablopomo didit

image

Feeds


