Behind Door #10: Smooth Sailing

10 December 2006 at 11:57 Leave a comment

It’s quarter to midnight, and I’m sitting here at my desk wondering what to write for today. Nothing really extraordinary happened—just a bunch of the kind of things that go into a perfectly pleasant Sunday.

I made all the various trains and buses I had to catch with time to spare. I played fiddle tunes with friends at the Scandinavian dance in Montague. I listened to my friend Andrea sing Swedish Christmas carols by candlelight. I ate saffron-scented buns and white chocolate-peppermint bark and chatted at the holiday party afterwards and then headed off through the forests of central Massachusetts with my friend Marilyn.

On the way to the station where I’d catch the train back to Boston, we stopped at an amusingly named restaurant where I ordered the sandwich that the host said would be the quickest thing for them to prepare. This would seem to be a recipe for a disastrous meal, but somehow, the sandwich was absolutely delicious.

I still feel stressed about school. I still feel like I need to sleep for about two days straight. But I also feel that in between all my deadlines and assignments I’ll manage to find some moments of pleasure. And, most of the time, that’s really all I need to keep going.

Entry filed under: Julkalendar.

Behind Door #9: Burn, Billy, Burn Behind Door # 11: Taking the Night Off

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

nablopomo.org

nablopomo randomizer

nablopomo didit

image

Feeds


